The Importance of SEO For Your Etsy Shop

Standard

lifeblood-clipart-dblog_seoI have taken some time off from my blog to just focus on improving my Etsy shop, Designs By CnC.  This past spring, I was brainstorming ways to make improvements to the offerings in my shop.  I had already improved my photographs and gradually been increasing the number of listings.  However, I just felt that this was simply not enough.  My shop was just not being found amongst all of the other Etsy shops.

I began reading articles on how to improve SEO.  Just what is SEO?  Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process of affecting the visibility of a website or a web page in a search engine’s unpaid results – often referred to as “natural,” “organic,” or “earned” results.  While reading different posts from my teammates on the Helping Etsians Promote Team,  I kept seeing the name of  a shop that offers SEO writing services, The Write Assistant

I noticed many recommendations about the quality of services from this shop, so I contacted Kateland Kelly of The Write Assistant.  She reworked three of my listings, completely rewriting the titles, tags and descriptions, all of which greatly improved the SEO.  Based on what I learned from this experience, I completely reworked all of the listings in my shop.  All 300 of them, which only took all summer long!  My shop has certainly experienced an increase in views up from 5,633 for August – September 2014, to 8,195 for August – September 2015.

My suggestions for improving your SEO are:

  1.  Try it on your own first.  Do your research by reading up on SEO, there are a lot of great articles out there.  If you find it rather confusing like I did, then consider consulting or hiring someone to help.
  2. If you do decide to hire a writing service, get references.  Talk to former clients to see if they are pleased with the results they received.
  3. Look over the website or shop of the writing service.  How well is their website put together, is it well written and professional?
  4. Ask to see samples of their work.  Does their writing style match the image of your Etsy shop?
Leave a Reply

