Wood Initial Ornament

Standard

DSCN5650

 

It has been a tradition in our family to give all of the children a Christmas ornament every year.  Over the years, this has ranged from everything from Hallmark Ornaments to handmade ones, either by myself or someone else.  For the ornaments this year, I decided to do a wood initial ornament.  The one shown in the photo is the one that I made for myself.  Since I like pink and polka dots, I thought that this would be a good combination.  I used this one as the practice piece, before I moved on to all the rest of them.  Altogether, I made a total of 8 ornaments.

 

DSCN5589

 

For this project you will need:  wood letters (4″), modge podge, patterned paper, metal screw eyes (4x15mm), acrylic paint, paint brush, ribbon, silver pearlized cardstock, white cardstock, metal chain link, and a metal eyelet.  I began this project by predrilling a small hole in the top of the letter.  I painted both sides of the letter with the acrylic paint.  This took two coats of paint, letting it thoroughly dry between the two coats.

 

DSCN5591

 

For the next step, lay the paper patterned side down.  Keep in mind which way the design on the paper is going to assure proper placement onto the letter.  Put the wooden letter face down onto the paper and trace around it with a pencil.  On the letter tracing, measure in 3/16″ and make a smaller tracing inside the large one.  Cut it out using the smaller tracing as the cut lines.

Follow the directions on the bottle of modge podge to adhere the paper onto the wooden letter.  Make sure that there are no wrinkles or bubbles.  This step took two coats of modge podge, letting it completely dry between the two coats.

To make the tag, I printed my message onto a sheet of white cardstock.  I then used my Cricut machine and the Plantin Schoolbook cartridge to cut a 1″ circle that is centerpointed over the text.  Using the silver pearlized cardstock, I changed over to the Cricut Stretch Your Imagination cartridge and cut out a tag silhouette at 1 1/2″.  I glued the two pieces of the tag together and attached the metal eyelet. I attached the screw eye into the predrilled hold.   It just so happened that I had some small silver chain link on hand, so I used that to attach the tag onto the letter.  I finished off the project by attaching the coordinating ribbon for the hanger.

This was a very fun and easy project to do.  I liked the fact that I was able to customize each one according to hobbies or favorite colors.  For my husband’s ornament, I used fish patterned paper.  My daughter’s favorite color is purple, so naturally I used purple paper.

 

Leave a Reply

