Creating A Lighted Snow Man

Standard

DSCN5550

Recently, I attended a Christmas Craft Bazaar and noticed a vendor that was selling some adorable lighted snowmen, that were made with glass blocks.  I thought that this would be a fun idea to try making myself.  After doing some research and getting a design in place, I went shopping for my materials.

DSCN5543

The materials used:

  • glass block 4″ x 4″ (for head)
  • glass block 6″ x 6″ (for body)
  • Christmas lights 100 count (on white wire)
  • black buttons 7/8″ (for eyes)
  • green buttons 3/4″ (for tummy)
  • red round sequins 15 mm (for mouth)
  • carrot nose 1.5″ (polymer clay)
  • black felt 1 1/2′ (for hat)
  • patterned fleece 1 yd x 3″ (for scarf)
  • E6000 adhesive
  • red satin ribbon 5/8″ wide (for hat band)
  • holly embellishment (for hat)

All of my materials were purchased at my local craft stores, Hobby Lobby and Michaels.  The noses were special ordered from a great shop that I discovered on Etsy, called Uniquely Yours Crafts.

DSCN5546

I began creating my snowman by placing half of the lights into the head and the other half into the body.  I left the end with the plug hanging out so I would be able to plug him into an electrical outlet.  Then I applied the adhesive to the glass blocks and let it stand overnight.  Please note, that the glass blocks come with plastic plug inserts.  I did not use these, because the blocks would not sit level with them in place.

To create the hat:

  • Cut one circle 7″ for the brim of the hat.
  • Cut a smaller circle 4″ in the center of the brim.
  • Cut one 4 1/2″ circle for the top of the hat.
  • Cut one rectangle, 3″ x 14″ for the cylinder.

Sewing the hat:

  1. Folding the rectangle in half, stitch the end using a 1/4″ seam, making the cylinder.
  2. Keeping the cylinder wrong side out, pin the 4 1/2″ circle around the top of the hat.  Stitch it together.
  3. Turn the cylinder right side out.
  4. Pin the brim of the hat carefully around the cylinder and stitch it together.

To decorate the hat, using hot glue, I attached the red ribbon and the holly embellishment.

To make the scarf:

  • Cut a piece of fleece 3″ x 36″.
  • Cut fringe into both ends of the scarf.

Now, my snowman was ready to come to life.  To attach his eyes, nose, mouth and hat, I used a small amount of the E6000 adhesive.  Fold the scarf in half longways and tie it around the snowman.

Leave a Reply

