Creating The Sock Monkey Birthday Card

Standard

DSCN4406While spending a lovely afternoon playing with my little grandson, the thought occurred to me that I didn’t have any children’s animal cards in my Etsy shop. He happened to have a cute little monkey on his outfit and thus the design for the sock monkey card was born. Apparently my old childhood favorite, the sock monkey, is extremely popular once again. On my trip to the craft store, I discovered an adorable rubber stamp and coordinating designer paper in this motif.

I began by laying out my materials. For this project I used: Core’dinations ruby red and charcoal gray textured cardstock, Paper Studio sock monkey designer paper, Bazzill Basics candy corn cardstock, ash gray and vanilla cream cardstock, sock monkey stamp, and Stampin’ Up real red, black and gray inks. One element that I particularly wanted to include was some fringe created with my new Stampin’ Up fringe scissors.

This is my first project using these scissors and I absolutely love them! I like the look of the fringe and look forward to using them on many different projects.DSCN4409

Leave a Reply

