All Work And No Play

Standard

DSCN2932Most of my days are spent creating my handmade greeting cards in my design studio, or marketing and listing items in my Etsy Shop. In fact, some days it seems that all my time is devoted to some sort of activity that is related to my greeting card business. With the onset of warm summer weather, it is rather difficult to remain inside. So, yesterday I took the entire day off, spending it outdoors away from the studio, computer and all other electronic devices.

It actually started last year, when my daughters 4th grade class was going on a field trip. My daughter wanted me to go along, but due to an ankle injury I was unable to accompany her on the trip. So, I made the promise that I would go with her on the 5th grade field trip. Well, here we are one year later and I was reminded of the promise that I made.

It was a beautiful morning, and off we went with two school busses filled with excited 5th grade students, teachers and parents. Our destination was YMCA Camp Eberhart, located in Three Rivers, Michigan. This beautiful camp is situated on 200 wooded acres, with over a mile of shoreline on Corey Lake. Our adventure began with the students testing their abilities on the rock climbing wall. We also worked on many team building skills as well. Our day was jam packed with many new and exciting experiences for both the students and parents alike. I stepped out of my comfort zone and went canoeing for the very first time! My daughter had learned this skill last year and was quite eager to teach me. It was so much fun, can’t wait to do it again. I tried my hand at archery. Not as easy as it appears, but at least 2 of my 4 arrows hit the target.

Needless to say, after spending 9 hours hiking around and enjoying all of the many different activities that the camp had to offer, we were exhausted. Although my muscles are a little sore today, I feel refreshed and happy. It was great to get outside on a sunny day and enjoy the great outdoors. But the most important thing of all, was keeping my promise to a little girl who is growing up so quickly and getting lost in the special moment of quality time spent with one another.

One response »

  1. Love this post, it’s so important to memory make, I’m so pleased that’s how you spent your day even if you a paying the price a little today in aches & pains, thats nothing compared to the joy that was created 🙂

Leave a Reply

