In The Early Morning Hours

Standard

(credit: Diego Torres Silvestre, Flickr)Back in my youth when I was a teenager, I can recall sleeping until noon when school was not in session. After I graduated from college and got a job, I found it very difficult to get up and get to work in the morning. I never was what you would call a morning person.

Now that I am getting older, I find that my sleep patterns are changing. For the past several months, I have been waking up at 3 am. Not by choice, I just wake up unable to go back to sleep again. So I grab my warm hoodie and go downstairs, treading quietly so as not to wake my sleeping family.

The quiet and solitude wraps around me like my favorite blanket. I am free at last. Free from the chores and demands of the daylight hours. I use this special “me” time to work on card sketches for new greeting card designs. This is also a great time to use the computer. I can catch up with far away family and friends on Facebook or find another awesome new cookie recipe on Pinterest. I can even work on my Etsy Shop or my blog without having someone looking over my shoulder waiting for “their turn” on the computer. Sometimes, I just curl up with a good book and do some reading or just sit quietly, clear my brain and enjoy the quiet in the early morning hours. Just me, myself and I in the early morning hours.

(photo credit: Diego Torres Silvestre, Flickr)

Leave a Reply

